If you have been convicted of a
sex crime in Indiana, it is highly likely that you will be required to
register as a sex offender. Sex offenders who are registered are added to a searchable database that
can be accessed by the public. Personal information listed in the registry
includes information about your identity, location, and appearance. The
registry is a joint registry for sex offenders and violent offenders.
How Long Does Registration Last?
It can be difficult to predict exactly how long you will be registered,
but most offenders are sentenced to either 10 years on the registry or
lifetime registration. The primary distinction between these two sentences
is how you are classified as a sex offender.
As a “sex or violent offender,” you will most likely receive
10 years of mandatory registration. If you are classified as a “sexually
violent offender” or meet specific circumstances, you may be required
to register for life. These specific circumstances include a sex offense
against a child under the age of 12 or using force or the threat of force.
Registration begins the day that the offender is released from incarceration
or is placed on parole or probation, whichever occurs last.
Zachary’s Law & Indiana Statute IC 11-8-8
Zachary’s Law was passed in 1994, and this law requires convicted
sex offenders to register with the local law enforcement authority of
their county of residence. It was replaced in 2006 by Indiana statute
IC 11-8-8, which details the responsibilities of local law enforcement
and the convicted offender.
There are 4 types of offenders who are registered:
- Sexually violent predators
- Offenders against children
- Sex offenders
- Violent offenders
What is Required of Registered Sex Offenders?
If you have been mandated to register as a sex offender, you must do so
with the law enforcement of your home county. You must provide the following
- Your name and any former names or aliases
- Date of birth
- Sex, race, height, weight, hair color, eye color, and any scars, marks,
- Social Security number
- Driver’s license number or state identification card number
- Vehicle description, vehicle plate number, and vehicle identification number
for any vehicle that you own or operate regularly
- Principal residence address
- Other addresses where you spend more than 7 nights in a 14-day period
- Mailing address if different from residence address
- The name and address of each of your employers in Indiana
- The name and address of each campus or location where you are enrolled
in school in Indiana
- Any email addresses, instant messaging username, electronic chat room username,
or social networking website username that you use or intend to use.
If you work, volunteer, attend school, or own property in another county
besides your primary residence, you must also register in those counties
in person within 3 days of your arrival in that county. If you are homeless,
living in a halfway home, group home, or shelter, you must register with
your local law enforcement every 7 days until you have a permanent residence.
You must also report to the local law authorities once a year in every
county where you are registered.
There are many more restrictions on registered sex offenders. If you are
required to register as a sex offender, your life will most likely undergo
a dramatic change. You will find that you are restricted in where you
can live, work, study, and worship. You will also have a number of commitments
with law enforcement officials to uphold.
Don’t face your charges alone. Our Fort Wayne
sex crimes defense lawyers can protect you from your charges. You deserve personalized,
aggressive defense that looks after your best interests. At
Arnold Terrill Anzini, P.C., we are backed by more than 50 years of shared legal experience, and we
will fight tirelessly for you.
Contact our legal team to arrange a
free initial phone consultation. Dial (888) 912-7220 to get started on your defense.