If you have been convicted of a sex crime in Indiana, it is highly likely that you will be required to register as a sex offender. Sex offenders who are registered are added to a searchable database that can be accessed by the public. Personal information listed in the registry includes information about your identity, location, and appearance. The registry is a joint registry for sex offenders and violent offenders.
How Long Does Registration Last?
It can be difficult to predict exactly how long you will be registered, but most offenders are sentenced to either 10 years on the registry or lifetime registration. The primary distinction between these two sentences is how you are classified as a sex offender.
As a “sex or violent offender,” you will most likely receive 10 years of mandatory registration. If you are classified as a “sexually violent offender” or meet specific circumstances, you may be required to register for life. These specific circumstances include a sex offense against a child under the age of 12 or using force or the threat of force. Registration begins the day that the offender is released from incarceration or is placed on parole or probation, whichever occurs last.
Zachary’s Law & Indiana Statute IC 11-8-8
Zachary’s Law was passed in 1994, and this law requires convicted sex offenders to register with the local law enforcement authority of their county of residence. It was replaced in 2006 by Indiana statute IC 11-8-8, which details the responsibilities of local law enforcement and the convicted offender.
There are 4 types of offenders who are registered:
- Sexually violent predators
- Offenders against children
- Sex offenders
- Violent offenders
What is Required of Registered Sex Offenders?
If you have been mandated to register as a sex offender, you must do so with the law enforcement of your home county. You must provide the following information:
- Your name and any former names or aliases
- Date of birth
- Sex, race, height, weight, hair color, eye color, and any scars, marks, or tattoos
- Social Security number
- Driver’s license number or state identification card number
- Vehicle description, vehicle plate number, and vehicle identification number for any vehicle that you own or operate regularly
- Principal residence address
- Other addresses where you spend more than 7 nights in a 14-day period
- Mailing address if different from residence address
- The name and address of each of your employers in Indiana
- The name and address of each campus or location where you are enrolled in school in Indiana
- Any email addresses, instant messaging username, electronic chat room username, or social networking website username that you use or intend to use.
If you work, volunteer, attend school, or own property in another county besides your primary residence, you must also register in those counties in person within 3 days of your arrival in that county. If you are homeless, living in a halfway home, group home, or shelter, you must register with your local law enforcement every 7 days until you have a permanent residence. You must also report to the local law authorities once a year in every county where you are registered.
There are many more restrictions on registered sex offenders. If you are required to register as a sex offender, your life will most likely undergo a dramatic change. You will find that you are restricted in where you can live, work, study, and worship. You will also have a number of commitments with law enforcement officials to uphold.
Don’t face your charges alone. Our Fort Wayne sex crimes defense lawyers can protect you from your charges. You deserve personalized, aggressive defense that looks after your best interests. At Arnold Terrill, P.C., we are backed by more than 75 years of shared legal experience, and we will fight tirelessly for you.